Home > Pronunciation > How to pronounce /l/ and /r/ after a vowel

How to pronounce /l/ and /r/ after a vowel

Today in class I taught a brief lesson on the pronunciation of /l/ and /r/.  I focused on those mistakes that the students in my class tended to make.  The Chinese-speaking students in my class have problems with /l/ after a vowel, so they often pronounced “milk” as “miwk”.  In addition, students from certain parts of southern China also mix up /l/ and /n/, so they may mix up “low” and “no”.

Categories: Pronunciation
  1. Anonymous
    May 25, 2011 at 12:17 am

    I am pleased to learn by your website.
    I cannot pronounce correctly ‘l’ and ‘n’and make the difference between ‘/l/ and /n/ when hearing .
    Can you post the vidio about how to pronounce ‘/l’ and ‘/n/ if possible and send email to tell me?
    thanks,
    Liping

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

